AQUELLE FLAVOURED WATER
THEIR MISLEADING RESPONSE
In response to our announcement that
AQUELLE FLAVOURED WATER IS HARAAM
The Aquelle Management wrote:
"In response to a leaflet sent out by The Majlis we confirm
that according to current South African legislation
(Foodstuffs, Cosmetics and Disinfectants Act, 1972 –Act 54 of 1972)
and Regulation 146 Relating to the Labelling and Advertising of Foodstuffs) all aQuelle flavoured drinks are classified
This response is highly misleading for Muslims. Firstly, our enquiry does not concern the classification of a product as 'alcohol free' IN TERMS OF CURRENT SOUTH AFRICAN LEGISLATION. The issue of interest to Muslims for the purpose of consumption of a product is 'ALCOHOL FREE IN TERMS OF SHARIAH LEGISLATION'
While "current South African legislation" classifies Aquelle flavored drinks as 'alcohol free', in terms of the Shariah AQUELLE FLAVOURED DRINKS ARE HARAAM BECAUSE SUCH DRINKS CONTAIN ALCOHOL. THIS IS OUR CONTENTION, AND WE CHALLENGE THE Aquelle Management to disprove us.
According to current South African legislation if a product contains a certain minute amount of alcohol, it can be legally advertised 'alcohol free', and such legal advertisement may be utilized to legally deceive the Muslim community and to trick Muslims into believing that the product is totally free of alcohol.
We now call on the Aquelle Management to clarify unequivocally in the literal and true meaning which every Tom, Dick and Harry and every moron can understand, the following issues:
(1) Are the concentrates/essences you use to produce your flavoured drinks 100% free of alcohol?
(2) If not totally free (and most certainly they are not totally free), state the percentage per litre of alcohol content in the concentrates you use.
(3) For the purposes of the Muslim community, forget about the deception of 'Alcohol Free in terms of current South African legislation". State with clarity and without any tongue-twisting in common terms whether your flavoured drinks are free of alcohol.
(4) If any of you flavoured drinks are in entirety free of alcohol, enumerate these flavours.
(5) Enumerate the flavours which do contain alcohol in terms of common understanding, not in terms of "current South African legislation".
(6) Whilst you may have flavours which are totally free of alcohol in the end product, explain to us if the concentrates used in such end products are alcoholic, and the percentage of alcohol in the concentrates used to produce such end products in which there is literally no alcohol residue.
FOR THE INFORMATION OF THE MUSLIM COMMUNITY